Alumni Association

HomeFellows & AlumniAlumni Association

Summer Greetings to All!

I hope you all are enjoying a long and lazy summer! The Alumni Board has been very busy! I have much to share with you.

Our Membership Committee is chaired by Vickie Niederhauser with Rose Sherman, Warren Herbert, and Rachel Armstrong as members. They just announced that we exceeded our membership goal: There are 132 members (out of 220) and this represents 62% of the RWJF ENF Alums!! Hooray for us!! If you are not a member, please contact Andi Williams ( or go to to renew your membership. Your membership for 2015 will be due in January.

The Seed Grant Committee is chaired by Debbi Honey. She reports that five grants have been submitted for over $17,000. Grants cover a broad range of topics and are well written. They are in the process of being reviewed by Board members Fran Roberts, Debbi Honey, Nancy Ridenour, and me. Thanks to all who applied and those who are reviewing. We hope to have decisions made by the end of August.

Kathy Sullivan, our new Treasurer, is looking to develop the Finance Committee that will be working on developing a budget, updating the financial statements, and finalizing the reimbursement policy. The Nursing Legacy Committee is chaired by Ann Cary with Vickie Niederhauser, Kathy Sullivan, and Nancy Ridenour as members. This is the endowment fund begun by the 2003 Cohort. The STARs Program is chaired by Ann Cary with Vickie Niederhauser and Kathy Sullivan as members. We have received $2700 with an additional $1300 expected. We plan to send out a STARs solicitation letter to the graduating Fellows soon. If you would like to make a contribution to RWJF ENF by naming a STAR in your life, please contact Susan Frye ( for the forms.

Fran Roberts is chairing the Nominations Committee which will gear up in the spring for elections. We are in the process of amending the bylaws as we have had a tie vote for officers for the past two years. We are also working on moving the Membership Committee from Ad Hoc to a standing committee. Both bylaw changes are with the Executive Board and we will put them forward for a vote at the next Annual Meeting.

A Peer Consultation Call was held on June 11. The peer coaching process is a way to leverage collective leader expertise among ENF alumni as well as providing continued leadership development. Alumni bring their most challenging leadership issues to the table and receive peer coaching and consultation from fellow alumni. The next Peer Coaching call is scheduled for September 10. We will be sending out a reminder to register soon.

Jerry Mansfield and Mary Kay VanDriel are the co-chairs of the Strategic Planning Group that formed to look at the opportunities the Alumni Association has to collaborate with other RWJF Human Capital groups. To date, they have held four "listening tours" with two more scheduled. Jerry and Mary Kay will collate the information derived from these listening sessions and will present it in September at the Alumni Association Board Meeting. We have also talked with the Center for Creative Leadership and are going to hire consultant Blair Johnson, referred to us by CCL, to help us further develop the work of this Committee. We'll have a full report after our September Board Meeting.

The Annual Meeting will be held at the Miraval Resort and Spa in Tucson, Arizona, from February 24 – 27. The rate for individual participants on the days of the meeting is $200/day and that includes room, transportation from the airport, WiFi, and meals. Look for registration information in the coming month. The locale is exquisite (! The Program Committee is pulling together a challenging program. The Committee is chaired by Tener Veenema with Val Gokenbach, Mary Kay VanDriel, and Joyce Batcheller as members. Please save the date for this important and relaxing event!!

I invite you to join us in the work of the Alumni Association. If you would like to serve on any committee, please contact me (

Enjoy the rest of your summer!!

Kind regards,
Kate Driscoll Malliarakis ('99), President, RWJF ENF Alumni Association